How Much Does YouTube Pay? Detailed Statistics and Examples
It is fair to say that the question “how much does YouTube pay?” has probably crossed anyone’s who has ever been interested in the possibility to become a YouTube content creator.
I, as a starting YouTuber, was no exception. It’s a well-known fact that views have a lot to do with a YouTuber’s income. However, how much of those does one need to get in order to actually earn something?
Sure thing I wasn’t expecting millions of views right away, yet I was still curious about how everything works here on YouTube.
I’ve begun my research then, and now I’m here to share my findings.
So let’s check them out, shall we?
Table of Contents
How to Start Earning on YouTube?
Most importantly, we need to understand how earning revenue with YouTube actually works, which is not always as simple as one may think.
There are many factors that play a part in making money on this platform. At the same time, it opens up various opportunities and ways to bring home the bacon.
Here are the main methods to make money on YouTube, and it’s up to you whether you decide to use them separately or combine them together.
AdSense is the main advertising engine that Google uses on its own as well as their partner sites, YouTube included.
However, there are some qualifications that need to be met in order to join the Program:
- Your channel should have reached 4,000 watch hours in total and have gained at least 1,000 subscribers (during the past 12 months).
Once you have your AdSense account ready, you should link it to your YouTube account. This will help you to turn on your account monetization.
Here’s the deal:
To enable ads on your YouTube videos, you are required to agree to Google’s ad revenue share, which is a 32/68 split for all YouTube content creators, meaning that for every $100 advertiser pays, Google keeps $32 and you get the remaining $68.
Also, you should know that you can direct deposit your earnings only when you have collected more than $100 in your AdSense account.
Secondly, there are two parameters determining your ad revenue on YouTube that you should consider:
- CPC (Cost per Click) – the number of Advert clicks. Approximately generates $2 – $5/1000 views. It means that you get paid every time a viewer clicks on the link to the advertisers’ site, or watch the video past the ‘5 seconds skip to video’ time.
- CPM (Cost per Thousand Impressions) – the number of advert views (or views your monetized video gets). Approximately $0.18 per click.
However, the amount you are paid from AdSense is not set, it can vary depending on your region, types of ads, and your YouTube channel’s niche. Both CPS and CPM can decrease or increase as well.
The idea of affiliate marketing is quite simple – you include affiliate links to products in your YouTube videos or video description boxes.
In other words, you try to sell other people’s products through your content. If you are interested in affiliate marketing, you should first join some sort of an affiliate program, which almost every company or brand has.
Once you join the program, you should start integrating the given links in your videos. The easiest ways to do so are through reviews, where you try out various products, as well as ‘how-to’ or ‘best of’ videos, in which you suggest what products to use and which ones you find to be the best.
These types of videos have proven to be the most successful in affiliate marketing, but you can definitely find other creative ways to include your affiliate links in your content.
So, how does the payout work?
Basically, once your viewer clicks on your provided affiliate link and makes a purchase on the company’s website, you get paid commissions. The great thing is that the product purchased doesn’t necessarily have to be the specific one you recommended, it can be anything on the website, as long as the buyer used your link to get there.
Different brands have different commission rates, they usually vary from 1% to 10%, so you need to check out the terms and conditions in order to decide whether you’re interested in working with the company or not.
Once your YouTube channel gains a significant amount of subscribers, you can start the lookout for sponsors.
Not to say that it is impossible to get a brand deal when you are a smaller channel, but it is definitely harder than when you have a considerable amount of subscribers because sponsors are usually looking for a bigger audience.
In order to interest potential sponsors, your brand persona, content, and target audience needs to be compatible with theirs. A sponsor needs to see that your values align with theirs and that your content will be relevant and appealing to their potential clients.
The quality of your YouTube content is also very important because companies do not want to be associated with low standards. Therefore make sure to perform a quality check – reflect on your work or get feedback.
When you do get a brand deal, the ways you promote a certain company or product can be different. You may announce that your newest video has been sponsored by a specific brand, you might feature the products in your content, and, in some cases, might even structure the whole video around them.
The amount you are paid for a brand deal is negotiated between you and the company you are working with and mostly depends on the number of subscribers you have.
According to some statistics, the average earnings from sponsorships are around $2000 for every 100,000 subscribers.
You can start by including a product/service promotion in one of your videos and then contacting the business after.
Email them and say that you have already promoted their product/service because you find it to be great. Business owners love hearing good reviews from their clients, and they love the possibility of those good reviews being spread even more.
The company then may offer to sponsor you in the future. In addition to that, it could increase your chances of getting a deal for paid advertising from other companies (most likely from competitors).
If you have already established a fan base, you can start thinking about selling your own merchandise. You may launch your own online store offering products with personalized designs – featuring slogans, logos, images, etc.
Such products can vary from phone cases or keychains to t-shirts, hoodies or bags.
Funding From Your Fans
Patreon is another way to make additional earnings once you have a loyal fan base. This is where you can start a sort of a membership campaign for your subscribers, where they can donate in order to become a patron and gain access to additional content.
The sizes of donations can be different and the earnings depend on the number of patrons. For instance, you may get 200 patrons supporting you for $2 a month, so your monthly revenue would be $400.
Super Chat is also a way to get financial support from your fans. While you are streaming online, your viewers have a chance to purchase a Super Chat message, which gets pinned in the live chat ticker, not getting lost in the vast amount of incoming messages from other people.
The more your viewer donates, the longer the period that the message stays pinned. The prices of Super Chat messages can vary from $1 to $500.
How Much Does YouTube Pay Per View?
So, as you may have figured out by now, you get paid when your videos have been approved and monetized and there is no such thing as a fixed amount of money that you get for a specific amount of views.
Also, you have many alternatives to add to your earnings, such as affiliate marketing or sponsorship deals.
Nonetheless, we can still try and determine the potential earnings per YouTube view, as well as discuss some strategies to increase the income.
Here are some approximate calculations on how much you can earn according to the number of views you get. If you want to try and predict your own YouTube earnings, you can check out the YouTube Money Calculator.
Now, let’s break it down according to:
According to the formula, your CPC = $0,3. Now let’s assume 10 of your viewers actually clicked on or watched the advertiser’s video. That would make CPM = 10 x $0,18 = $1,8. So your total earnings per 100 views would be $2,1.
Yet remember that having as little as 100 views won’t get you into the YouTube Partner Program.
If you decide to start affiliate marketing, your potential earnings could be $3, but it is likely that it won’t be effective at all. You won’t be making brand deals just yet either.
In this stage of your YouTube career, you should concentrate on growing your channel by creating good quality content. If you’ll be persistent, active, and improve constantly, you’ll soon start attracting more subscribers and views.
Total estimated earnings per 100 views: $0 – $3
Continuing with the same formula, your CPC is now $3. Let’s assume 100 of your viewers actually clicked on or watched the advertiser’s video, which would make CPM = 100 x $0,18 = $18. So your total earnings per 1000 views would be $21.
At this stage, you’re on your way to successfully grow your YouTube channel. It is still not likely that you will be able to actually earn the estimated amount of money right away, but you are getting closer to joining the YouTube Partner Program and monetizing your videos.
In case you have started affiliate marketing, your earnings could reach $30. Most likely, you won’t be attracting potential sponsors just yet.
Total estimated earnings per 1000 views: $30
The CPC is now $30 and, assuming 1000 of your viewers actually clicked on or watched the advertiser’s video, the CPM = 1000 x $0,18 = $180. This makes your total earnings per 10000 views equal to $210.
At this point, you may already monetize your videos and start to actually earn money.
Affiliate marketing at this point could potentially bring you $300.
You can also try reaching out to some brands, they might be interested in you promoting their products. If you get lucky, such a deal could earn you $200.
Total estimated earnings per 10000 views: $710
The CPC grows to $300 and, now assuming that 10,000 of your viewers actually clicked on or watched the advertiser’s video, the CPM = 10,000 x $0,18 = $1800, making your total earnings per 100000 per views reach $2100.
Now you continue to earn from your monetized videos and the earnings are getting more significant!
Your affiliate marketing game might start to get stronger as well, reaching $3000.
You might be getting some sponsorship deals and offers from various companies that want you to promote their products to your YouTube audience. One of such deals could earn you $2000.
Do you already have a strong fan base? Consider releasing your own merchandise. If 1000 of your fans (1%) buy a $20 item each, this could earn you $20,000.
Your loyal fans might support you financially on Patreon and Super Chat as well. Let’s assume you get 200 patrons, they would bring you $400 in total. Now let’s say the same amount of people paid for a Super Chat message This would bring you another $400.
Total estimated earnings per 100000 views: $27,900
According to the formula, the CPC = $3,000. If we assume that 100,000 of your viewers actually clicked on or watched the advertiser’s video, the CPM = 100,000 x $0,18 = $18,000, making your total earnings per 1000000 views worth $21,000.
With this amount of views, you are significantly increasing your earnings from your monetized videos.
Affiliate marketing, at this point, can earn you around $30,000.
You should be receiving sponsorship offers more often and from a wider amount of companies. One sponsorship deal can earn you $20,000.
Your fan base is growing stronger than ever, if 10,000 of your fans (1%) purchases your $20 merchandise, you could earn $200,000.
Let’s say that now you have 500 patrons and the same amount of Super Chat donations. This would bring you $2000 in total.
Total estimated earnings per 1000000 views: $273,000
Keep in mind:
All these calculations were done using assumed approximate numbers, therefore the results should be taken with a grain of salt and are meant to help you get the grasp of the possibilities.
The CPC and CPM, the number of viewer clicks, the number of viewers that purchase your merchandise or from affiliate links, the size and amount of sponsorships and donations, etc. can vary individually.
Main Factors that Could Increase Your Earnings on YouTube
Here are some additional factors that could significantly affect your earnings on YouTube. It’s worth keeping them in mind while pursuing a career on YouTube:
If you don’t have any ideas, you always could do some challenges. Most importantly, be excited about what you do and have fun! Your viewers then surely will, too. In addition to that, companies are looking for interesting and established personalities to offer their brand deals to.
If your content is longer and more informative, people are going to have more time to click on the ads.
As you know, all YouTubers earn a different amount of money from their videos, because there isn’t such a thing as a fixed YouTuber salary.
One part of the earning is generated based on the approximate number of people that watched your monetized videos and checked out the included advertisements, another part comes from affiliate marketing, and the rest could be earned through brand deals or donations.
You can’t really make a living from 100 or even 1000 views, but we all need to start somewhere, right? Many people are skeptical about earning money from YouTube or give up early on.
However, I believe they are wrong because your content will constantly keep improving, your video count will continue growing, and your fan base will eventually start to form. Also, there are so many alternative ways to earn on YouTube!
So, if you want to start making money on this ever-growing platform, don’t give up that easily and keep advancing. The better quality content you create, the more views and revenue you get. Besides, create your videos with love for what you do – being excited about your own content is the number one factor that keeps attracting new viewers. P.S don’t forget to follow your channel stats.